Access monthly jazz standard studies, and courses: LEARN MORE


If you want to start dominating the fundamentals of ear training and learn how to start connecting your ear to your instrument, join our LJS Inner Circle membership, where you'll get access to our ear training course "How to Play What You Hear," and all of our premium courses.

"How to Play What You Hear"

Get started

Before you start…

Download our free eGuide “Learn Jazz Standards The Smart Way” and make sure you are setting yourself up for success!

Chord Charts

C Instruments Bb Instruments Eb Instruments

Countdown was written by John Coltrane and first appeared on his iconic 1960 release of “Giant Steps”. This composition demonstrates Coltrane’s harmonic innovation which has been dubbed “Coltrane Changes”. Countdown is based off of the chord progression of “Tune Up”, although it may seem like an entirely different tune all together. Trane takes the ii-V-I’s in Tune Up and connects them with a series of re-harmonization’s.

For those who can’t seem to make sense of this chord progression, here is a brief analysis: Each four bars follows the key centers of Tune Up (Dmaj-Cmaj-Bbmaj-Bbmaj). Each key center starts with it’s appropriate ii chord but then cycles through two different keys before arriving at the I chord. The key centers are all a major third down from each other (Dmaj-Bbmaj-Gbmaj-Dmaj). To approach each key center it is preceded by it’s appropriate V7 chord. To begin the cycle, the ii chord is followed by a dominant 7 chord a half step above (Em7-F7) to which each dominant chord is resolved (F7-Bbmaj7). The next key center is cycled to by playing the dominant 7th chord a minor third up from the last key center (Bbmaj7-Db7-Gbmaj7-A7-Dmaj7). The next four bars, and new key, starts by making the I chord the ii of the next key (Dmaj=I of D)(Dmin7=ii of C).

Videos to learn the melody/changes

Previous articleRoute 66
Next articleJust Squeeze Me
Brent Vaartstra
Brent Vaartstra is a professional jazz guitarist and educator living in New York City. He is the head blogger and podcast host for which he owns and operates. He actively performs around the New York metropolitan area and is the author of the Hal Leonard publication "Visual Improvisation for Jazz Guitar." He's also the host of the music entrepreneurship podcast "Passive Income Musician."


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Chord Charts

C Instruments Bb Instruments Eb Instruments

Follow Us

Free Stuff


I want to...